Production Project Session Four

SUMMARY

Role

Artistic Lead

Intention (SMART Goal)

By March 2nd, as the Lead artist of team 2, I will make attack animations by following Animations for an Action RPG Character – Pixel Art Breakdown and create 3 attacks for separate entities for our Session 4 project.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Ari Gibson is one co-founder for Team Cherry which worked on Hollow Knight. Ari Gibson made lots of art.

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

  1. Basic enemy AI
  2. Functional Imp sprites
  3. Improved room generation
  4. Basic boss implementation
  5. Basic player upgrades

Proposed Budget

Pre-Production edited by John Zickuhr

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

Itch.io

Skills Commentary

In this session, I focused on attack animations. The imp was the first thing I worked on this month, and I’m happy with this result, especially the emanata. I also redid the sword attacks to look better, made an animation for the player firing a beam, and several traps. I’ve also been working to make my animations longer so I can fully capture the world.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I had to create a couple of new things for this session. I needed to make several new assets. I think my arrow trap was creative. I made a sort of demon statue that shoots arrows from his mouth. There was a problem of how I did not know how to show a signal it was about to shoot when he was facing upwards. I solved this by giving the demon a tail that would move before he fires a shot.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I had to collaborate quite a bit with my team. I needed to know how other traps like the lava trap would work. If I didn’t ask Bryce how he wanted it, I would have made a completely different trap. The team leader, John, asked me to do a bit more work on the sword attack sprite, which I agreed with. I got part of it to look better, but I think I should return to it again.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used media literacy to get inspiration for the traps. It’s a good thing I did because if I didn’t I would have made a worse spike trap. I also experimented a bit with layers on PixelArt, particularly to make a beating heart that will heal the player.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I developed life and career skills by just getting work done. Sometimes you just have to get on the grind and get some sprites out. You need something, you get an idea, you make it, spend some time revising it, ask others what they think, and you submit it.

Reactions to the Final Version

Jim Flatmo said our game was cool so yeah, I’m the best.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Looking at my work under the S.U.C.C.E.S.s model, I think I did well. I kept it simple but still good. I wouldn’t say my work was unexpected, but I think it will keep players engaged. My work is also pretty concrete, one could argue too much and they could move a bit more. I don’t know how credible my art is, but the developers like it so they’re my credit. My work brings lots of emotions, from the soft feeling of looking at something kind of cute to the betrayal when it attacks you. I can also make the players feel fear, some of the work is very spooky. Lastly, my work tells a story, the story of a guy fighting demons.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

Generally, all my problems just come from me thinking my work could be better. I can solve this problem in various ways. I can look for inspiration, redraw it, find a tutorial. Other times I just look at it for a bit, trying to find what could be improved. It’s also important to ask others for their opinions on it.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Leo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *