Production Project – Session 3 – Team 6

SUMMARY

Role

Character Artist

Intention (SMART Goal)

By January 13, as the character artist, I will make a character model following this tutorial

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Paige Carter explains her process of adapting 2d characters to the third dimension

Paige Carter is a modeler for SuperGiant games who created models for the game Hades.

Training Source(s)

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

Ideas document

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

We unfortunately do not have a game prototype at this moment, as a lot of this session was pre-production

Skills Commentary

Here’s our slideshow

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

One problem I had to solve was the rigging. I had to bind bones to the model I made, but they didn’t bind correctly. For instance, the arm bone was pulling parts of the hip. The problem was in the weight paint. I had to go in there and change the painting so that the bones would bind to the parts of the model that I want.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

In this Session, 4 of us were put into the “art team”. It was our job to decide on the artistic elements of the game, such as the map, music, models, and animation. I had to collaborate with them a lot for this.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I found tutorials continue to be extremely helpful for learning how to use Blender. I had to follow a couple of different tutorials to figure out rigging, but I’ve learned a lot from each of them.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I think this session is the most I’ve collaborated with my team, which will be helpful in the future. I particularly have worked a lot with Arlo. Once the model’s done, I’m going to hand it over to him so he can animate it.

Reactions to the Final Version

We were told the advisor looked forward to the game, and that was about it, as we didn’t have any prototype.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I think I did a good job. Before this session, I had no idea how I would make the player model, and no idea what rigging even was in the context of models. While my process is a bit slow, I think when the rigging is done, we’ll have a very good player model. Hard work pays off.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Larry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *